Tuesday, 26 February 2019 11:34

The jam-packed Njobvu auditorium at Bingu International Conference Centre (BICC) in Lilongwe was the metropolis of annual Malawi Sport Awards on Friday evening, February 22, 2019, as chess shattered proceedings by scooping unprecedented five gold medals to emerge the most decorated sporting code for 2019.



Sporting the guest of honour, Grace Obama Chiume, who is the Minister of Sports, and George Jana, the Executive Director of National Council of Sports, including other dignitaries from Lesotho and Namibia, it was vivid that chess razed down the house.

Tuesday, 18 December 2018 13:46

Crossroads Management have confirmed support and partnership with Chess Association of Malawi to host the National Chess Tournament scheduled for 21-23 December 2018 in Lilongwe.


Tuesday, 18 December 2018 09:15

Malawi Junior Chess Team flies out through Kamuzu International Airport (KIA) on Wednesday December 5,  2018, to compete at the African Schools Individual Chess Championships slated for Limpopo, SouthAfrica. The five players who have made the cut, are set to jostle for honours in different age group categories, namely: Lakshita Dutt (Under 11 Girls), Priyasha Shriyan (Under 13 Girls), Janet Basikolo (Under 15 Girls), Dakshesh Dutt (Under 13 Boys), and Blessings Kamanga (Under 17 Boys)


                Malawi Junior Chess Team with Susan Namangale (Fourth from left), CHESSAM president

Chess Malawi has new management
Sunday, 02 December 2018 19:10

Chess Association of Malawi has new management headed by Mrs Susan Namangale

Africa Youth Representatives 2015 back
Monday, 14 December 2015 19:17

The Historic participation of Malawi Youths at the 2015 African Youth Chess Championship held in Lusaka, Zambia from 5th to 12th December left alot of lessons for the Malawi youths to remember and build on. Twelve youths represented Malawi in all the youth categories and performed fairly for starters.

The team that represented Malawi was led by the seat-in National Schools Coordinator Ms Magret Ngugama who took along the following youths:

Girls: Tupokiwe Msukwa (U18)finished with 3.5pts, Ulemu Mbewe (U16) finished with 4pts, Oprah Phiri (U14) finished with 4 pts, Annie Simwaba (U12) finished with 1.5pts, Michelle Chimbe (U10) finished as best scorer for Malawi at 5.5pts  and Daisy Huwa (U08) who collected 3.5 points.

Boys: Martin Namakhwa (U18) collected 1.5pts, Davies Ngwira (U16) collected 3.5 points, Yewo Sanga (U14) collected 4 points, Rafik Waliyala (U12) 3.5pts, Tafadzwa Linje (U10) had 2.5pts and Zane Sherif (U08) collected 1.5 points.

The performance of the team could not be expected to have been any better than that owing to several factors that led to our ill preparartion but the objective of exposure was met.

Resources being available, we shall need to build on this team.

We thank Ms Ngugama for the enormous job she did prior to the travel as well as during the travel and during the whole tournament.

On a sad note, while in Lusaka, Ms Ngugama lost her elder sister in Bulawayo. May her soul rest in peace.


by forthillian

Mdina 2015 Edition
Sunday, 10 May 2015 21:20

Fresh from the Zone 4.3 Chess Championship, attention shifts to the ever competitive Mdina sponsored tournament in Blantyre at Victoria Hotel. MK250,000 is up for grab in the open section with MK100,000 dungled for the ladies section.

Who will lift the trophy? Peter Jayloss is the defending champion after proving he was a hard nut to crack in Mzuzu. It is expected to be a tough tournament with all the wounded buffaloes from the Zone 4.3 tournament expected to limp to Blantyre headed by Finisher Alfred Chimthere.

Razorblade, who has not featured on National scene for a long time is expected to be the strongest contender along with FM Gerrad Mphungu.

Eyes are in Blantyre now as we want to witness the Mdina tournament sponsored by Mdina Business Solutions, a Malawian owned business based in RSA. The event runs from 15th to 17th May 2015.

by theodore

<< Start < Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next > End >>

Page 1 of 8
Malawi Chess Federation © 2010  | Powered by Turkish Chess Federation